Save the Date for this year's BRAVO! Awards - June 17, 2023!

Dinner, Baseball & Fireworks!

BRAVO! is an annual special event hosted by United Way of Frederick County to celebrate volunteers and supporters for their commitment to fighting for the health, education, and financial stability of every person in Frederick County.

BRAVO! is made possible thanks to:

turning point financial logofulton bank logo


Outstanding Advocate

An annual award given to an individual or organization whose work aligns with United Way's advocacy platform. They demonstrate their commitment to improving lives of local ALICE households through their work on one or more positions within the year's advocacy platform.

Awardee: TransIT Services of Frederick County

Outstanding Volunteer

This annual award given to an individual or organization that best exhibits what it means to be a helping hand in the community and going above and beyond for those in need.

Awardee: Nymeo Federal Credit Union

Outstanding Community Impact Partner

An annual award given to those who reflect true community impact by leveraging the whole community to reach incredible goals.

Awardee: Hood College Data Driven Frederick

The Unity Award

The Unity Campaign is a collaborative project between nonprofit partners, sponsors, and the greater Frederick community to support our most vulnerable neighbors. This annual award celebrates the key partners who make this campaign successful.

Awardee: Mark and Judy Lancaster

How can I attend this year’s BRAVO! Awards?

This year’s BRAVO! Awards is invite-only and limited to United Way’s LEADERS UNITED supporters, Board Members, awardees and their guests.

How can I buy a ticket to this year’s BRAVO! Awards as a member of the general public?

The general public is more than welcome to attend the Frederick Keys game and cheer on this year’s BRAVO! Awardees from the stands as they are recognized on-field ahead of the game. Those wishing to do so must purchase their own ticket through the Frederick Keys website. Only those with a designated ticket can enter the Mattress Warehouse Club.

To purchase tickets to the 6/17 game, click here.

Are there limitations to attending the game as a member of the general public?

Yes, there are limitations.  The general public will not be allowed in the Mattress Warehouse Club guest suite. Seating will be designated based on each individual ticket. However, we encourage you to attend the game as a spectator and cheer on our awardees as their work for our community is recognized prior to the first pitch.

What should I expect from this year’s BRAVO! Awards?

For the second year in a row, the BRAVO! Awards will take place at a Frederick Keys game as a way to say thank you to our volunteers and supporters. Awardees will be recognized on the field prior to the 6PM game and one awardee will throw out a ceremonial first pitch. We see this event as a way for United Way to engage the greater Frederick community.

How can I support United Way during this year’s BRAVO Awards?

You can support United Way by attending the Frederick Keys game on June 17th and cheering on our BRAVO! Awardees from the stands as they are recognized on-field ahead of the game. You can also support United Way by making a donation to support our work or by signing up to volunteer with us throughout the year. Our next volunteer event is the Stuff the Bus school supply drive and Day of Action on October 6. You can learn more information about Day of Action here.


LEADERS UNITED is an effective network of individuals committed to making Frederick County a better place to live, work and play. LEADERS UNITED members, who give $1,000 or more annually, recognize the important role in advancing initiatives like Stuff the Bus and Pathways to Financial Stability. If you’re interested in becoming part of LEADERS UNITED, click here.

I have additional questions!

Not a problem! Email Erin Lawson, Director of Resource Development & Marketing, at if you have additional questions about the event.


Hand-raisers, Game-changers & Moment-makers

BRAVO! is an annual special event hosted by United Way of Frederick County to celebrate volunteers and supporters for their commitment to fighting for the health, education, and financial stability of every person in Frederick County. United Way believes philanthropic support of our community is key to making lasting changes.

Each award is selected by volunteers and staff to recognize individuals and companies that embody the belief that, “To live better, we must LIVE UNITED.” 

Previous Awardees


2022: Fred & Kim Genau


United Way Red Feather Award

2021:  George B. Delaplaine, Jr.
2018: Pete Plamondon, Sr.


Spirit of Community

2022: ACNB Bank (Formerly FCB Bank)

2021:  Truist
2020: Frederick County Public Schools (FCPS)


2018: Wegmans

2017: Frederick Regional Health System

2016: M&T Bank

2015: Bechtel

2014: Wegmans

2013: Comcast

2012: The Plamondon Companies

2011: PNC Bank

2010: CITI Financial

2009: Fairchild Controls


Outstanding Volunteer

2022: AstraZeneca

2021:  Barbara Kershner Daniel

2020: Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Volunteer Program

2019: Wells Fargo

2018: Joy Schaefer

2017: Dan Goldstein

2016: Hermine Bernstein

2015: Welocalize

2014: Marlene Young

2013: Claudia Stephens

2012: Mike Kidder

2011: Tina Lee


Outstanding Community Impact

2022: Second Chances Garage

2021:  I Believe in Me, Inc.

2020: Interfaith Housing Alliance (IHA)

2019: 2-1-1 Operated by Mental Health Association

2018: Frederick County DHCD

2017: Frederick County Health Department

2016: Americorps

2015: CASH Campaign for Maryland

2014: Frederick Rescue Mission

2013: Frederick Community Action Agency

2012: Seton Center

2011: Community Foundation of Frederick County


The Unity Award

2022: Natelli Communities

2021: Troyce Gatewood & Partners

2020: Ausherman Family Foundation

2019: Delaplaine Foundation, Inc.

2018: The Frederick News-Post

2017: The Randall Family


Outstanding Advocate

2020: The Frederick County Human Trafficking Response Team

2019: Housing Authority

2018: The Community Foundation

2017: Joe Gatewood

2016: Rachel’s Challenge

2015: Senator Barbara Mikulski

2014: Stacey Collins

2013: Shari Ostrow-Scher


Small Business Community Partner

2016: Canape’s Catering

2015: Southern Research Institute

2014: Linton Shafer Warfield & Garrett, P.A.

2013: Trout’s Towne Restaurant

2012: OAO Mohn & Allen

2011: Linton Shafer Warfield & Garret, P.A.

2010: Flying Dog Brewery

2009: Inkthis


Nonprofit Leader

2016: Dan Kurtenbach

2014: Patricia Hanberry & Susan Holton

2013: Todd Johnson


Corporate Leader

2016: Giant Eagle

2015: BB&T

2014: Morgan-Keller

2013: SAIC

2011: Costco Wholesale Depot

2010: Rodgers Consulting

2009: Blue Ridge Bank


Ignite/Workplace Debut

2019: Woodsboro Bank

2014: Food PRO

2013: Wegman’s


Collective Impact

2016: Frederick County Public Library

2015: Frederick County Bank

2014: Hood College

2013: Giant Eagle


Million Dollar Circle

2010: Bechtel & Frederick County Public Schools